How do you know ‘It’s the one’?


You know, whenever I read fairytales, was told of love, it was as if you knew when it would be the one. I have never known. Maybe I haven’t found the one. Maybe I don’t believe in the one.

But I do know that for a good strong relationship, there is one really good sign and that is when one doesn’t have to explain or justify the other person’s methods/ moves/ comments etc.

When I was with JR- his not talking to me for 3 days- I explained it by saying he was busy.
When I was with TL- his lack of willingness to spend- I explained by claiming he earned in INR and me in EUR.
When I was with SL- his lack of wanting to fly to India- I explained through lack of funds- though he could go around South America!
See a pattern?
Not saying Red is the one but saying that being with Red has made me realise that love is truly about accepting the other person, completely unconditionally!

My tips for knowing you have a good one:
1. Acceptance
2. Respect
3. Pride- pride in showing them off
4. Happiness- their happiness increases your happiness.

be yourself

4 Comments

Filed under Dating

4 responses to “How do you know ‘It’s the one’?

  1. i can relate to this. before, when people tell me “you just know.” when asked how you’d know if they’re the one for you, it made me so confused. but when i met my fiance, those people were right all along. indeed, you just know. like, deep inside your soul, you’re happy. and you don’t even need to justify that feeling. and no words can’t even begin to describe it.

    as vague as that is, all i know is that there are no more hesitations. no more questions. your heart can rest assured.

    • I think it’s a case of subconsciousness against consciousness: The subconscious does the sort of check I have talked about in the article but the consciousness doesn’t realise it is happening- I for one, still don’t if he is the one but I know he has made me understand the concept a lot more. Hope that makes sense?!
      A cynical Joy x

      • the funny thing i found is, it doesn’t have to make sense at all, as long as it makes sense to you. lol. go figure.

        but i’m happy for you, though. whether or not they might not be “the one,” it’s nice being with someone who makes you appreciated and loved. =)

        cheers!

      • Cheers! And I am glad you are with someone who appreciates and loves you too x

Share your thoughts & comments?

