Daily Archives: August 26, 2010

I will miss you, Dublin

There is something to be said about sitting in the open, wearing my sunnies, enjoying a cup of coffee while looking out the canal…

Not the nicest pic but the best I can do when using a mobile phone!

I am going to miss Dublin- this is the city that has been my second home for so long-

  • I know the nooks and crannies of this place.
  • I know what Dubs like, what they mean when they say something, how they think.
  • I know where to get a good pint of Guinness, even if I don’t like any.
  • I know the good places for the different cuisines.
  • I know the different smells.
  • I know this city.
  • I know where to go when I want a really good cup of green tea.
  • I know which hairdresser can do my hair just the way I like it.
  • I know where I can kill a few hours whenever I feel the need to.
  • I know where to get the best ice-cream.
  • I know this city.
  • I will miss this city.

Am I really ready to be a ‘culchie’?! Am I ready to have a quiet life where things will need to be planned, a spontaneous cup of coffee, a spontaneous movie plan, a spontaneous anything is not really possible or will I just think it’s only an hour and carry on like I would if I were in Delhi…

Either which way, I know I will miss Dublin- the craic in O’Donoghues, the sales in Brown Thomas, the lunches in Romano’s, the movies in Cineworld, the walks in Dun Laoghaire, the teas in The Westbury and the smiles of those who love this city the way I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, My Day